Offenders are registered in a tiered system, with Tier I designating those convicted of lower-level crimes, such as aggravated indecent exposure, possession of child pornography, and misdemeanor sexual touching. Anyone with internet access can find the name, address, photo, and list of convictions of sex offenders living near any address in Michigan. The Michigan Supreme Court in August declared it unconstitutional that changes lawmakers made to the registry in and retroactively applied stricter limitations and lifetime registration requirements on offenders who were convicted before the changes went into effect. Begun in as a tool for law enforcement agencies, the registry became available to the public in Offenders remain on the registry for 15 years to life, depending on the crime for which they are found guilty. The official Michigan registry, at about 40, offenders, is the fourth-largest in the country. Registered offenders are required to report to law enforcement up to four times a year and inform authorities about all significant changes in their lives, including new jobs, vehicles, or email addresses. News Staff Writer jriddle thealpenanews. Offenders convicted of offenses such as rape, molesting a child under the age of 13, and kidnapping a minor — even if there is no sexual component to the crime — are registered as Tier III and must report four times a year for life. Julie Riddle can be reached at , jriddle thealpenanews. Sex offender registries exist in all 50 states, although in some places the recorded information is available only to law enforcement. However, in a federal district court decision prompted by an American Civil Liberties Union lawsuit, the state has now been given until Aug. Alpena County: They are not allowed to live, work, or loiter within 1, feet of a school. Tier I offenders, some of whom are not listed on the public site, must register with police once a year for 15 years. Their records include convictions on charges of soliciting minors for sex, distributing child pornography, and sexual touching of a victim between 13 and 17 years of age.